• Register

Winners of King Abdullah II Award to be announced at WEF

Jordan: Wednesday, May 13 - 2009 @ 12:11

In April 2009, the King Abdullah II Fund for Development, which is the entity managing the Award, selected ten distinguished finalists from more than 500 Arab youth who applied for the Award.

The finalists are Raghda El Ebrashy from Egypt, Yorgui Teyrouz from Lebanon, Lana Hijazi from Palestine, Rabee’ Zureikat from Jordan, Abdinasir Nur from Somalia, Abdelkareem Bedri from Sudan, Pierre Daher from Lebanon, Rawan Abu Al Failat from Jordan, Nadia Al Ghadiri from Kuwait and Motaz Gendia from Egypt. The finalists’ profiles are available on the KAAYIA website.

The finalists were interviewed by a distinguished panel of assessors in April 2009 in Amman. The assessors evaluated the finalists and their projects based on three core criteria: the applicant’s leadership qualities and the innovativeness of their approaches, his or her capacity to form and maintain partnerships, and the impact and sustainability of their projects.

Tarik Awad, Director-General of KAFD stated:

“The 10 finalists were selected based on their unique efforts to positively contribute to their societies. Their efforts highlight how simple innovation, determination and commitment can bring significant benefits to large numbers of people through contributing to community development and economic growth. I am proud of every one of the 10 finalists and can confidently say that all the projects have been truly inspirational and will play an important role in providing a better future for people located throughout the Middle East.”

The assessment committee consisted of Mr. Fadi Ghandour, Founder & CEO of Aramex International, Dr. Iman Bibars, Regional Director of Ashoka – Arab World, Mr. Nabil Alyousuf, Vice Chairman of the Dubai School of Government, Dr. Suhair Al-Qurashi, Dean of Dar Al-Hekma College and Mr. Ziad Haddara, Regional Manager of ICTDAR, UNDP.

The winners will be announced at the World Economic Forum on the Middle East, which will be held at the Dead Sea, Jordan from 15 -17 of May 2009. Each winner will receive a grant to expand the scope and impact of their work, and to support complementary training and capacity building opportunities.

Today's Top Stories

Posted by

Wednesday, May 13- 2009 @ 12:11 UAE local time (GMT+4) Replication or redistribution in whole or in part is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Mediaquest FZ LLC.

AME Info Services

Business DirectoryVIEW ALL

Search by name

Search by industry

Browse alphabetically


Search for jobs

Latest Jobs