2013 Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah International Energy Awards for Lifetime Achievement awarded to HE Abdalla Salem El-Badri, Secretary General, OPEC.

OPEC Secretary General to lead selection committee for the second annual Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah International Energy Awards

: Monday, February 10 - 2014 @ 05:30

OPEC Secretary General HE Abdalla Salem El-Badri, along with Dr. Daniel Yergin, author of The Prize, will lead an independent selection committee of individuals tasked with choosing the winners of the second annual Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah International Energy Awards for Lifetime Achievement.

The seven-member volunteer selection committee, which also includes Dr. Aldo Flores-Quiroga, Secretary General of the International Energy Forum, and Mr. Nasser Al Jaidah, CEO of Qatar Petroleum International, has over 200 years of aggregated experience engaging with the global energy industry.

“The 2014 Awards will recognize individuals from all over the world for an outstanding record of accomplishment through the whole of a career and the distinguished members of the Selection Committee have been invited to deploy their wisdom in this role as they themselves are well respected internationally for their vast achievements,” said HE Abdulaziz Al-Malki, Vice-Chairman of The Abdullah Bin Hamad Al Attiyah Foundation.

The International Energy Awards, which were established to celebrate the legacy of Qatar’s former energy minister, are set in five categories that emulate His Excellency’s 40 years of contribution to the sector – Qatar Energy Industry; Energy Producer-Consumer Dialogue; OPEC; Future Energy Leaders Education; Energy Journalism.

The 2014 award winners will be presented with their Lifetime Achievements by HE Al-Attiyah on April 8th at a gala dinner ceremony to be hosted at the Museum of Islamic Art – Doha, which will be attended by leading members of Qatari society and industry along with their international counterparts, who will include the other memembers of the Selection Committee Dr. Mark Weichold, Dean & CEO, Texas A&M University at Qatar; Ms. Randa Takieddine, Paris Correspondent, Al Hayat Newspaper; and Mr. Simon Henderson, Baker Fellow, Director, Gulf and Energy Policy Program, The Washington Institute.

“His Excellency Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah is recognized globally for having made a formidable contribution to the international energy industry over the course of several decades and Qatar Shell is honored to support a celebration of his legacy,” said Wael Sawan, Managing Director & Chairman of Qatar Shell Companies. “His Excellency’s career touched so many people, companies and nations, and perhaps most notably the development of the energy industry and his home state of Qatar,” he said.

The inaugural award ceremony was held on March 5th, 2013 and the first winner to be presented with this prestigious accolade, which is positioned to be the preeminent lifetime achievement trophy bestowed by the global energy industry, was HE Dr. Mohammed Bin Saleh Al-Sada, Minister of Energy and Industry, for the Advancement of the Qatar Energy Industry.

Today's Top Stories

Posted by

Monday, February 10- 2014 @ 5:30 UAE local time (GMT+4) Replication or redistribution in whole or in part is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Mediaquest FZ LLC.

AME Info Services

Business DirectoryVIEW ALL

Search by name

Search by industry

Browse alphabetically


Search for jobs

Latest Jobs