Google’s Gmail to self-destruct in 3, 2, 1 . . .

April 15, 2018 1:58 pm


Google is testing a new feature that allows emails to self-destruct, according to media reports.

Google notified its G-suite users of the changes coming to Gmail including the self-destruct feature.

READ: Winners of the Top CEO Awards 2018

When composing an email, users can click on a lock icon to switch on the feature. Here’s what happens:

  • The recipient can’t forward, download, copy-paste, or print the email content, although users can still take a screenshot
  • The sender can ask the recipient to confirm their identity through a verification code sent to their phone.

READ: Volvo driving its brand forward in the Kingdom

  • The settings can be adjusted to auto-delete the email in a stipulated period of time.
  • Recipients need to login again or confirm their account through a verification code to view the confidential email

It is unclear at this time if and how the feature will work with non-Gmail users. Although services like Crypt-a-byte and Snapmail –which can be installed as a Chrome extension – already, offer this feature.

READ: Types of cyber-security threats to look out for

Since the launch of Snapchat, there has been a steady rise in ephemeral content with Instagram and Facebook also launching their ‘Stories’ feature. However, the popularity of self-destructing content has largely been seen in the social media space especially among younger audiences. But now Gmail too seems to be following suit with this latest feature.

DON’T MISS: We know who will win the World Cup 2018

Tags:

AMEinfo Staff
By AMEinfo Staff
AMEinfo staff members report business news and views from across the Middle East and North Africa region, and analyse global events impacting the region today.



AMEinfo EXPERTS